Let’s get started…

There is no single  metaphor that can capture the richness of mathematics. But one could see it as a tremendous mountain (or a mountain range), with varied terrain and scenery, challenging but rewarding to climb. Hence the name of this brand-new blog. Actually, the name comes more from the fact that I love mountains almost as much as I love math (and I combine the two fairly often). I don’t plan to extend the metaphor much further than this, don’t worry.

I intend to blog primarily on the practice of teaching mathematics, which I have done a lot of, but which still makes me humble when I think of how many approaches exist to teaching the subject. I will also likely post about fun bits of mathematics; about my personal, recreational research into measuring mountains with mathematics; and about philosophy of mind, on a purely amateur level.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s get started…

  1. Rebecca says:

    Welcome to the world of writing about teaching math!! 🙂 I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

